Donate Now   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Site Search
The Medical Fitness Association Fellowship
Share |
                                                          
The Medical Fitness Association is excited to announce the implementation of its new "Fellow" designation honoring members who have demonstrated exceptional service to the Medical Fitness Association, Industry and to their local community.  In December 2012, the Medical Fitness Association By-laws were revised and approved by the Board of Directors to reflect the Fellow designation.


 
Fellowship provides a means to recognize excellence, innovation and significant contributions to the medical fitness industry, and leadership in the Medical Fitness Association.
 
The Medical Fitness Association Fellowship is not just another membership category.  It is reserved for current members who are physicians, scientists and healthcare/wellness/fitness professionals with a demonstrated interest in medical fitness whose documented accomplishments support the stated objectives of the Medical Fitness Association.

 

 
Benefits include:
  • Organizational voting privileges.
  • Eligibility for Medical Fitness Association Board of Directors nominations.
  • Opportunity to attend special Fellow social and educational events.
  • Approval to use the initials FMFA (Fellow Medical Fitness Association)
  • Certificate indicating designation of Fellowship

 

 

Over the years, each and every member has earned points by attending events, volunteering to speak, participating on committees, and more.

Download the Fellow Checklist to see how many points you have earned!


Important Notes Regarding the Application and Submittal. 

Please read in full:
  • There is a $50 non-refundable application fee that is due upon receipt of your application.  Applications will not be considered without this fee.

  • All applications, supplemental documents and Fellow Recommendation Forms must be typed.  Applications, supplemental documents and Recommendation Forms that are not typed will not be considered. 

  • Please download the Application and fill it out as completely as possible.  Incomplete applications will not be considered.  It is the applicant's responsibility to gather and submit all supporting documents (Manuscript publication, article publication, reviewer for peer reviewed journal, etc.).

  • Forms may be submitted electronically. Please send as .pdf documents. Paper is acceptable. If a paper application is sent, please do not staple. Please use paperclips, if necessary. 

General Instructions for Applying:

  • Please take a moment and download the Application, Fellow Checklist and the Fellow Recommendation Form.  It is the applicant's responsibility to contact Fellows from the list below for a recommendation.

  • Compile all supplemental documents and fill out the Application electronically wherever there is "Click here to enter text".

  • Once all documentation is complete, please send to the Medical Fitness Association office:

    Email: jason.aslanian@medicalfitness.org

    Fax: (910) 420-8733, Attention Fellow Review Committee

    Mail: Medical Fitness Association
              Attention Fellow Review Committee
              90 Cherokee Rd., Ste. 3A
              Pinehurst, NC 28374

  • The $50 Application fee must be submitted in conjunction with your application:

    Download the Fellowship Application Payment Form.  

    The Fellowship Application Payment Form does not need to be typed.  
    This form may be submitted in the same format as your application.

    Pay the fee online.  
    Do not submit payment until the application has been faxed/emailed.  This fee is nonrefundable.

    To pay by phone, call the Medical Fitness Association office at (910) 420-8610.
  • You do not need to submit the Fellow Checklist.  This is for your own records.

 


 
List of Current Fellows:

Tom Arnold Retired from TriHealth thomasw_arnold@yahoo.com
Bob Boone Medical Fitness Association bob.boone@medicalfitness.org
Bob Brown Spartenburg Regional Heart Center bobbrown@srhs.com
Neil Byrd Rex Wellness Center neil.byrd@rexhealth.com
John Caliri FirstHealth Centers for Health & Fitness jcaliri@firsthealth.org
Tom Campbell Community Healthplex Sports Club tcampbell@firstcoastymca.org
David Carpenter Baptist Healthplex dcarpenter@mbhs.org
Collette Carter Owensboro Health collette.carter@owensborohealth.org
Kathy DeBlasio UNC Wellness Centers kathryn.deblasio@unchealth.unc.edu
Lori Deemer, MD Hancock Wellness Center lori.hurst34@gmail.com
David Evans Meritage Healthcare Strategies  devans@meritagestrategies.com
David Flench Hancock Regional Hospital dflench@hancockregional.org
Rich Gershom Akron General Health & Wellness Center gershor@ccg.org
Eric Good Powell Wellness Center egood@culpeperwellness.org
Jeramie Hinojosa East Texas Medical Center jhinojosa@etmc.org
Jennifer Hopper Piedmont Atlanta Fitness Center jennifer.hopper@piedmont.org
Jeff Jeran Vally Health and Wellness jjeran@valleyhealthlink.com
Natalie Johnson Population Health Consultants natalie@populationhealthconsultants.com
Hervey Lavoie OLC hlavoie@olcdesigns.com
Dan Lynch VisionBridge lynch@thevisionbridge.com
Judy Martin Meritage Healthcare Strategies jmartin@meritagestrategies.com 
Jamy McGee UNC Wellness Centers jamy.mcgee@unchealth.unc.edu
Kevin McHugh The Atlantic Club KevinM@theatlanticclub.com
Laura Neiberg Good Samaritan Health & Wellness Center laura.neiberg@advocatehealth.com
Sue Parker Akron General Health & Wellness Center rsparker891@gmail.com
Phil Raper North Mississippi Medical Center Wellness Center praper@nmhs.net
Doug Ribley Akron General Health & Wellness Center doug.ribley@akrongeneral.org
Michael Richmond Heller & Richmond, Ltd. mrichmond@hellerrichmond.com
Deb Riggs TriHealth Fitness & Health Pavilion deb_riggs@trihealth.com
Lynn Robbins HealthPlex Associates lrobbins@healthplexassociates.com
Brad Roy The Summit - Kalispell Regional Medical Center broy@krmc.org
Art Slowinski Advocate Heart Institute Elmhurst art.slowinski@advocatehealth.com
Bob Stedman Works Family Fitness Center robert.stedman@wdhospital.com
Melissa Ziegler AKTA melissa.ziegler@usm.edu

It is the applicant's responsibility to contact a Fellow for a recommendation.
 

The Fellowship was awarded posthumously to Hank Boerner, founding member of the Association and director of the North Mississippi Medical Center Wellness Center for twenty years.  Hank was a pioneer who understood how critical the role of medical fitness plays in the lives of a community, and continuously involved himself and his center in initiatives that matter to the lives of individuals.


more Calendar

1/25/2018
Giving your client what they need: Exercise programming and Customer Service

2/1/2018
Benchmarking

2/8/2018
Tai Chi . . . The Best Fall Prevention Protocol

2/13/2018
Building a Bridge to the Non-Exerciser

3/19/2018 » 3/20/2018
West Regional Conference

Featured Members

90 Cherokee Road Suite 3A, Pinehurst, North Carolina 28374, United States
Ph: 910-420-8610 • Int'l Ph: 844-312-3541 • Fx: 910-420-8733


Privacy Policy
Legal